top of page
  • Writer's pictureEd James

Welcome. You are invited to dream with me.

Updated: Jun 2, 2023

This is my space.

It's the place to find out what I am thinking and to read strategy of my latest projects.

My passion is for the arts and creativity to reflect the heart and mind of the Creator of us all. To create great works that invite all of humanity to the table of humility and forgiveness. To learn and understand how to build relationships that go deeper than a casual walk-by on the sidewalk. To stop and look around at the conversation G-D is having right now with all of creation. He is looking to talk with you. I am here to create the meet and greet. I am here to create hospitality with the source of all things. He is the I AM.


HISTORY LESSON:

What began as a volunteer project, quickly became my destiny in the Music City.

In the Fall of 1984, I was asked to be part of a volunteer team to help with a concert to raise funds for Nashville YoungLife. The morning following the show featuring recording artists Russ Taff, Kathy Troccoli, Billy Sprague and Michael W. Smith; my phone began to ring. I was designing and creating for major concert tours beginning that very next day. I didn't even have a company name or business card. I didn't know how to begin. I called my friend, producer Brown Bannister. Without even knowing each other prior to college, we had attended church together at Meadowbrook in Ft. Worth. It was the very location that I gave my heart to Jesus on June 14, 1970. I sketched some ideas out, talked it over with Brown and decided to name this new venture, ARK 2™. In just weeks Brown called me up and said he had a project for me. He was producing Amy Grant's pop album crossover called 'unguarded' released on A&M Records. He had me design set pieces for the Tour. At that moment everything truly began to take-off. It wasn't long until I was approached by George Strait, Waylon Jennings, The Mavericks, Kenny Loggins, Alabama and then corporate brands like Nissan, Saturn and Yamaha.


There began the entire idea of capturing creative content using the arts on all levels to impact culture. I began to use critical thinking about my purpose and design, not just being creative. It became my purpose to design with intention. I used to pick up my paintbrush to make a backdrop, and pray over it. I'd pray that the artist tour would be experienced by thousands and that somehow my work would touch lives and change hearts too. Just by being within the show, I knew I had some degree of influence. It became my mission to change things in the creative world of ideas. I wanted to see what would happen if some real effort were placed behind artistic strategy, not controversy. Well at least not at that point.


What's Happening Now.

I am in the middle of planning, meeting and designing for the 2021 Tournament of Roses parade. It's a project and mission I care deeply about. I have literally been working on this idea since 2001 and it has morphed into other ideas on a monthly basis since then. Stay tuned to follow the process.

Thank you for your interest and support! -Ed


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page